Can you be a Magickal Agnostic (or atheist)?

I posted this on the Wiccan subreddit in response to the question of whether one can be a WIccan agnostic. I am not a Wiccan of any sort, but I am an interested well wisher.

 

I am not a Wiccan, but I consider myself to be agnostic or even atheist with regard to God or gods. My working assumption is that these figures exist in a sense, but primarily as concepts formed by the human mind. As such, we are externalizing aspects of our own existence and psyche. In magic, we are using this as a tool for working our will on the world around us, as a way of focusing our mental powers.

But let’s say gods, spirits, or deities do exist as external beings or forces. What does that actually mean? First, they exist. They are part of the universe just like we are. They may be smarter and more powerful, but the same can be said of any theoretically existing advanced extraterrestrials out there. We may show them respect or deference, but worship? No. Do you worship Stephen Hawking? Or Obama? These entities–if they exist–are part of the material universe like us, and are no more “spiritual” or morally advanced than we are. Theoretically, we could become like them if we took the time and effort.

Leave a comment